SA Police Officer of the Year Award 2024

Since its inception in 1978, the annual South Australia Police Officer of the Year Award has sought to highlight the service provided to our community by the South Australia Police and recognises outstanding acts of courtesy, courage, kindness, understanding, compassion and devotion to duty by any member of the SA Police Department.
What we look for are those officers who perform above and beyond the call of duty. That may be performance on the job, for example courage, handling complex situations in an outstanding fashion, etc., or providing significant off-duty community volunteering.  
Each year's winner is chosen by the Rotary Club of Unley from nominations received from individuals and groups in the community.
Nominations for the SA Police Officer of the Year Award 2024 open on the 31st of May and close on the 12th July, apply to 2024 and the years prior.
This prestigious Award will be presented at a public ceremony on September 6th at the Royal Adelaide Show.
The high quality and number of nominations received by the Club each year demonstrates the esteem and respect the community holds for the members of the SA Police and the importance that South Australians place on the Police Officer of the Year Award.
Nominations for the
SA Police Officer of the year 2024
open on the 31st May and close on the 12th July 2024

   Recent SA Police Officer of the Year awardees:

2023:  Senior Constable Gary Wills of Gawler
2022:  Superintendent Mark Syrus of York North L.S A
2021:  Senior Constable First Class Michael Klose of City of Adelaide
2020:  General Citation to all of SAPOL
2019:  Chief Inspector Matthew Nairn of City of Adelaide
2018:  Brevet Sergeant Fred Keal of Mount Barker
2016:  Brevet Sergeant Peter Phillips of Mount Gambier
2015:  No award made
2014:  Sergeant Paul Sciclune of Mount Gambier
2013:  Senior Constable First Class Daniel McGurgan of Waikerie
2012:  Sergeant John Illingsworth of Thebarton
2011:  Sergeant Caroline Bristow of Berri
2010:  Senior Constable Monique Anderson of Whyalla and Senior Constable First Class Ian Skewes of Noriootpa
2009:  Senior Constable Michelle Hollis of Elizabeth