Since its inception in 1978, the annual South Australia Police Officer of the Year Award has sought to highlight the service provided to our community by the South Australia Police and recognises outstanding acts of courtesy, courage, kindness, understanding, compassion and devotion to duty by any member of the SA Police Department.

What we look for are those officers who perform above and beyond the call of duty. That may be performance on the job, for example courage, handling complex situations in an outstanding fashion, etc., or providing significant off-duty community volunteering.

Each year's winner is chosen by the Rotary Club of Unley from nominations received from individuals and groups in the community.

Nominations for the SA Police Officer of the Year  Award 2021 are closed ; the award will apply to 2021 and the years prior.

This prestigious award will be presented at a public ceremony on October 14th in Rundle Mall.

The high quality and number of nominations received by the Club each year demonstrates the high regard that the community holds for the members of the SA Police and the importance that South Australians place on the Police Officer of the Year Award.

Nominations for the
SA Police Officer of the Year 2021
are closed

Recent SA Police Officer of the Year awardees

  • 2019: Chief Inspector Matthew Nairn of City of Adelaide
  • 2018: Brevet Sergeant Fred Keal of Mt Barker
  • 2016: Brevet Sergeant Peter Phillips of Mt Gambier
  • 2015: No award made
  • 2014: Sergeant Paul Scicluna of Mount Gambier
  • 2013: Senior Constable First Class Daniel McGurgan of Waikerie
  • 2012: Sergeant John Illingworth of Thebarton
  • 2011: Sergeant Caroline Bristow of Berri
  • 2010: Senior Constable Monique Anderson of Whyalla and Senior Constable First Class Ian Skewes of Nuriootpa
  • 2009: Senior Constable Michelle Hollis of Elizabeth

Awardees since 1978

1978 Sergeant First Grade James Furnell
1979 Senior Constable Walter Garrett
1980 Senior Constable First Grade John Dennett
1981 Sergeant Brian O'Goerk
1982 Senior Constable Ross Miegel
1983 Senior Constable Gus Smith
1984 Detective First Class Constable Tim Smith
1985 Constable Michael Chipperfield
1986 Senior Constable Kevin Beinke
1987 First Class Constable Chris Waye
1988 Senior Sergeant John Reed
1989 Senior Constable Ronald J. Newton
1990 Constable Russell Disher
1991 Constable Andrew Ausserlechner
1992 Sergeant Paul Evans
1993 Sergeant Stephen Hill
1994 Senior Constable Lindsay Filmer
1995 First Class Constable Susan Slow
1996 Constable Gary Stewart
1997 Senior Sergeant Elvio DeMichelis
1998 Senior Constable Rick O'Dea
1999 Senior Constable Ian Drummond
2000 Senior Constable John Hookings
2001 Senior Constable Leo Price
2002 Senior Constable Michael Thunig
2003 Sergeant Andrew Minnis
2004 Senior Constable First Class Kelly Fletcher
2005 Sergeant Graham Brett
2006 Senior Constable Athalie Edman
2007 Sergeant Michele Smith
2008 Senior Constable First Class Andrew Murphy
2009 Senior Constable Michelle Hollis
2010 Senior Constable Monique Anderson and
        Senior Constable First Class Ian Skewes
2011 Sergeant Caroline Bristow
2012 Sergeant John Illingworth
2013 Senior Constable 1st Class Daniel McGurgan
2014 Sergeant Paul Scicluna
2015 No award made
2016 Brevet Sergeant Peter Phillips
2018 Brevet Sergeant Fred Keal

Need more information?

For more information about the SA Police Officer of the Year Award contact the Club by email or write to:

SA Police Officer of the Year
Rotary Club of Unley
PO Box 18

South Australia Police Officer of the Year is a project of the Rotary Club of Unley Inc.